The most frightening part of life is not the absence of time, but the realization of how much of it you really have.

 

In my many years of schooling I have always complained of never having the time; however, looking back I had lots. This year my final year of high school, I have finally realized how important time is. I guess you could say that I should have realized it long ago, but it wasn’t until my sister dug out my old grade 9 picture.

 

4 years have passed by, and soon everything will come to a close. Everyone moves onto new roads, so I take it as the closest I will ever get to know them. It really is a scary thought. I begin to wonder if I did all the right things, pushed all the right buttons, and gave those around me a little more time. I know it’s not healthy to contemplate on such deep thoughts, but sometimes it needs to be done. In the last 8 years, I’ve built a number of relationships, always trying to be the best person one could ever seek while at the same time trying to balance my parents ideal “man of the house.” Rugged, strong, and protective. All of it has been consumed by these 2 simplistic goals. In the end, do I regret ever spending so much of it? I truthfully couldn’t answer such a question.

 

To this day it’s been a pretty bumpy ride. I can’t say I have seen it all, but it’s surprising to reflect on the past. There has been a lot of good resulting from the bad consequently there has been a lot bad resulting from the good. I never truly discovered these mysterious workings? I always just assumed “That’s how it always worked, no one knew where it all started.” Admittedly I hated the uncertainty of never finding the full truth. As time passes, more questions are being asked, but no one seems to be answering… Maybe I’ll figure it all out.
    Now as we talk about time, let’s begin, shall we? I think I’ve wasted enough of it.