An average teenager may have many things that they don’t like to deal with because it creates some emotions. Some of which may be; not getting accepted into a post-secondary institution, getting their phone taken away, breaking up with their boyfriend/girlfriend, or even something small like not allowed going out on a Friday night. Although I’ve experienced almost all of the things I’ve stated, there is one thing I haven’t experienced to the extreme. And that thing is having a loved one pass away.

Till this day, I haven’t experienced the loss of someone that is my immediate family. I’ve experienced the loss of a dad’s friend, my grandfather’s cousin, a few of my pets, but nobody that I was very close with. Some of my friends have had their loved ones pass away, and I’ve stayed with them through their period of mourning. And I don’t like how it feels. Even though I didn’t really have a personal connection with their loved one, I get very emotional because one day, I’ll have to experience what they have been going through. Although I’ve gone to only two funerals, both times I’ve teared up. And they were because of the eulogy.

The eulogy is a very sad thing to listen to. A loved one talks about the person that has passed away, talks about what kind of a person they were, how they acted in society, how they were loving, how they cared for everyone. It was basically the last few words about a lost one before they were cremated or buried. The eulogy is something that greatly connects to me. One day, I’ll have to recite a eulogy about someone important, without screaming and crying, and I don’t think I’ll be able to do it. I would get too emotional and, and just keep saying to myself, “They’re really gone, they aren’t going to be there for me for the rest of my life.” The emotions would be so strong that I wouldn’t be able to put my feelings into words. I think the only thing I would be able to do would be to make a slideshow of their pictures, because then, I would be alone and I wouldn’t have to show my emotions to anyone but myself.

Death is something very hard to talk about. And hopefully, I don’t have to experience it anytime soon. But one day, everybody is going to experience it. Because in life, nobody gets out alive.